The Brussels-Capital Region will implement a Low Emission Zone 1st January 2018.

diesel: Euro 2

diesel: Euro 3

petrol: Euro 2
diesel: Euro 4

diesel: Euro 5

petrol: Euro 3
diesel: Euro 6

If no Euro standard is given on your vehicle papers then date of first registration will be used to identify the emissions standard.

Cars, vans <3.5t, busses and tour busses

not decided yet

The LEZ includes the entire Brussels-Capital Region.
Belgium Brussels map
the green shaded area is the entire LEZ
the red line is the excluded motorway ring

    Road Sign
not decided yet

Belgian vehicles: No
Foreign vehicles and perhaps certain other vehicles (eg some retrofits): Yes.
Further information will appear here as soon as available.

Yes, are affected.


camera enforced

not decided yet

Not yet

The following vehicles are exempted from the LEZ:
- motorbikes
- lorries > 3.5t delivering goods
- agricultural and forestry tractors
- electric vehicles
- hybrid vehicles
- plug-in hybrids
- hydrogen
- emergency vehicles
- exceptional traffic
- army vehicles
- historic vehicles
- vehicles of handicapped people with the proper parking card
- school busses


Go to top

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.